Jump to content

Recommended Posts

For some reason, Retrospect has forgotten what has been backed up and is backing up everything (or most everything) again. Log stated that on 7/31, backup completed with 1,411 files totally 4.9GB. Then on 8/1 it felt it needed to backup 700+GB of data when there was no data change on the server. Why is it not remembering what was backed up? Recycling has not been configured.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is it the same media set?

Is it a "Normal" backup (No media action)?

What are you backing up (the source)?

What are you backing up to (Media set type)?

No OS updates on client or server?

Has it happened again?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Retrospect 9 running on a 10.7 Server. Same Media, Normal backup, source is another 10.7 server, volume being backed u is a RAID created on said server. Backing up to external USB drives. I stopped the backup and started it again. Now it appears to be doing a complete (all 1.1TB) backup, like its recycling or something.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This would not be as much of an issue if the servers were not in two locations and backing up over the network (P-to-P VPN Tunnel). You can imagine how long it is going to take to back up 1.1TB. We initially backed up the server locally, then brought the drives to the other location and configured the backups, we are doingthe same to the other server so that the servers back up each other. It had been running fine until 8/1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm having this same issue from 5 days ago. I have several backups running but one of them sudently starts to do a full backup again... Know what?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Never had a solution, for this problem... any ideias? I'm doing a parallel backup then recycle the old one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have the same situation here:

Running 10.7 Lion Server on a mac mini.

Backing up to firewire external drive.

Same script run each time (contains same backup set, media, source)

No major updates on OS at server - are minor updates enough to reset the whole operation?

I'm backing up two physical drives mounted in the same machine.

One is the OS drive, contains only operational data.

The other is a data drive, shared by clients across the network.

~700GB of data, across both drives to be backed up.

 

We'll go for a week or two with normal operation and then have Retrospect seemingly "forget" about a backup set it's being doing without complaint. It will behave quite calmly, and proceed to start a fresh backup, as if it has never seen the data before.

 

I have occasionally run a script to groom for damaged/ incorrect ACLs on the server Data - will this cause the data to seem "brand new" to Retrospect? That has not always been the case before a major Forgetting, but it does occur to me that this would cause trouble. suggestions?

 

andrew

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

I have occasionally run a script to groom for damaged/ incorrect ACLs on the server Data - will this cause the data to seem "brand new" to Retrospect? That has not always been the case before a major Forgetting, but it does occur to me that this would cause trouble. suggestions?

 

andrew

 

We could go from there... It happens to me the same, but I cant remember if I changed the ACLs... Could be that. I'm having a paralel backup and then recycle/begin a new one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×