Jump to content
cwfrymire

Restrict Operation to Overnight

Recommended Posts

I would like to setup a daily backup in v9 that will only be active from 8 pm to 8am M-F and 24hours on SS. This was very straightforward in version 6, but how do I do this in v9?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would make a proactive script for this scenario (or two -- one for M-F and one for SS). That should work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could also write a regular backup script and set a script ending time.

 

Be aware, though, that the script ending time for either a regular or proactive backup script is a hard cutoff; the script or backup will just terminate in the middle of whatever it's doing. There is no wrap-up option as there was with Retro 6.

 

(Improved scheduling features akin to those in Retro 6 are high on the wish list for many of us.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, Thanks for the info...... Does the hard cut create any known issues? I'm backing up 10 clients each night, in v6 I had one script for all, but should I have a script for each in v9 to take advantage of multi-threading?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, Thanks for the info...... Does the hard cut create any known issues?

As far as I can tell, if Retrospect is in the middle of a backup, the file currently being backed up will be fully written to the backup media. The backup will then stop, and no comparison (if scheduled) will be performed. These are the only issues that I'm aware of.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! Boy do I wish that they had kept the scheduling of version 6. What were they thinking? I have been pulling my hair out with the new version, not only does it keep resetting what I tell it in the scheduling panel.... it starts a backup WHILE I'M EDITING THE SCRIPT !!!! DUMB DUMB DUMB...

 

I'm using portable home folders on OSX 10.6, and syncing really gets screwed up if Retrospect is backing up when my users start logging in and syncing with the server, which never happened in v 6 since everything would nicely wrap up and stop when I told it to....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×