Administering mixture of Retro 8 & 9 servers?

I looked through the 4 pages of Retrospect 9 posts here and several pages of Retro 8 posts, but did not find the answer to this. As a consultant, I maintain several Retrospect servers for my clients via the Console app on my MacBook Pro. I have thus far avoided upgrading them and myself to v9, as I didn't (and still don't) feel it fair to require exorbitant upgrade fees combined w/ an unproven track record for a mere bug-fix release of a highly unstable previous product.

But short of another option, and hoping that things improve now that Retrospect, Inc. is on its own, I'm sure I will have a need to set up and manage a Retro 9 server in the near future. However, I'm not about to recommend that all of my existing v8 customers upgrade at the same time, meaning I will have a mixture of v8 & v9 servers to administer. From my brief look a while back at the initial v9 release trial, it did not appear that it would allow control of a v8 server-- IIRC, it immediately prompted to upgrade the v8 server and wouldn't control it otherwise. What's more, w/ v9 wanting to update Console prefs from v8 on each launch, retaining both versions of the Console did not seem possible.

Is this still the case? If so, does anyone have a clever way of managing a heterogeneous mix of v8/v9 servers? One of the big draws to me of v8 was this ability to remotely control multiple servers, so I'm not interested in a solution that requires managing each one via Apple Remote Desktop or something like that.

Thx,

Fred

Okay, I've done a bit of testing w/ the latest v9.0.2 Console, and it does appear that I can access a v8 Server. This testing only includes taking an initial look at the v8 Server settings and ongoing operations-- not a full functionality test. Can anyone confirm or deny that a v8 Server can be successfully administered *error-free* using the v9 Console? Any gotchas?

Thanks,

FT