Restrospect recovery help needed!!! Please!

Karstiron

Hi all,

I have been using Retrospect Express for several years on a Maxtor OneTouch III external drive. Recently my desktop suffered a catastrophic hard drive failure. I have since replaced the hard drive, reinstalled my OS (XP Pro + all updates including SP3) and all applications. This is a single home-use PC.

Unfortunately in the intervening years I have lost my Retrospect Express installation CD and after downloading it, realized that I did not have a licence for it any longer. It seems I can’t purchase one from the Roxio store either, as the embedded link in the app appears dead and a search of the store turned up nothing.

Anyway, after reading through forums, it seems 7.7 will recover Express backups so I downloaded a trial version of Retrospect 7.7.562 and installed it.

I have attempted to recover my files (mostly digital photos which are irreplaceable and from overseas missions on which I have been deployed – and they have high sentimental value to me).

However, it seems I cannot get 7.7 to recover the files. It recovers the folder structures, but not the file contents, and I have checked and double checked that all files are ticked in the folders I want to recover.

Attached are some screenshots.

1. I mark 12,351 files for recovery (32GB of data)

2. I confirm the selection.

3. The summary tells me all is good. I am restoring to a folder named ‘RR’ I defined as a volume through Retrospect. I select Start.

4. After about 2 seconds, the restore is apparently complete (but of course unlikely with 32GB of data)

5. Windows Explore shows my RR folder now has all the folders, but none of the folders actually contain any files.

I’m at a loss to work this out. I have tried this about 5 times now with the same result.

Can anybody please help me?