Line 305 Invalid Error On Recovery Cd

Hi I have been using this software for several years and do not use it enough. I have been backing up to external hard drives and to date never needed to restore a backup.I just recovered from a trojan attack and I see the need to make a recovery cd for startup. I have done this in the past but have not recently.

My system is again clean so I completed my new backup again to an external hard drive and went and tried to make the cd. I have a HP pavillion with Athlon 64 3800+ processor running XP SP3. This has system install discs (8) and it also has a recovery partition on the hard drive. When Retro asks for the OS install disc it went and found the hd partition itself and then said the file would be too big to fit on a cd. It said to pick another OS disc. I then tried the supplied disc with the computer and it gave me the same error. I then chose a original Win XP disc I purchased for a system I built myself and that was accepted.

It completed and I decided to try it. When I booted from the cd it quit giving me a "line 305 invalid" error.

It took me several days and too many nail biting issues to get my system repaired. I would rather just format the hd and restore a backup using the restore cd next time to save all the time and grief. Is there help for this?

I am running Retro 7.6.123 driver and hotfix 7.6.2.101

Thanks

Edited by cybor462

As far as I know, you don't have to create a recovery CD.

Install a clean copy of Windows, the same version and service patch, updates etc as on the backup.

Then install the Retrospect client.

Perform a restore to the client, with the option "Restore an entire disk".

Reboot the client and you are done.

Edited by Lennart Thelander