Retrospect Suddenly Slows My Pc

I have been using Retrospect for what seems like ten years, starting with Express, then v.6 and onto Pro 7.0.301. I have never completely understood it but used it weekly to incrementally backup and duplicate my C drive to another internal drive and an external drive. I have never updated beyond the original 7.0.301 and still use it with windows XP. Last week everything changed - when I started Retrospect it now takes several minutes to load and causes all my other software to run in slow motion. The short of it is I can no longer use the Retrospect and suspect it might have have corrupted or be in conflict with other software on my computer. I have attempted to both repair and remove retrospect by using the original disk and from the control panel. Nothing seems to work. When I re-install it never asks me for my original key code so I suspect it has never fully removed itself when I do an uninstall. At times I have seen an error message - Retrospect unable to load UNIXVOL.RPX - error 63 (bad program extension). At the moment my only work around has been to boot in safe mode and for some reason Retrospect seems to work fine and allows me to duplicate to my internal drive but not to my external drive. I have not tried backups in safe mode. I have also done a system restore going back more than a week but this did not help. Need help badly.

• 5 weeks later...

This problem (and a host of other backup/startup/restore problems) is undoubtedly related to a recent automatic update to Windows.

I first had this very problem about 3 weeks ago but having figured out that it began very shortly after I installed an update to Windows (my version is XP SP 3).

For what it is worth I think (but CANNOT BE SURE) that the conflict lay in the .NET framework update