Newbie Q's about scheduling

adamball

My background is in Legato (love that program) but Dantz is a much better fit for the company that I am at now. The Proactive backup is huge for us with our laptop users.

Now, I am struggling at changing my thought process from Legato's traditional view of scheduling to Dantz's.

I have my scripts: Live_servers, Beta_servers, Alpha_servers, Exchange_servers, etc.

I want to schedule them so that I get a running weekly backup, Week A, B, C, D and that at the end of each week, I get a full backup that I can take off-site. Then ideally, at the end of Week D, I get a Full Backup that would be a Monthly full.

Then, for retention, I want to recycle the running weekly backups every 4 weeks. I want to keep the weekly fulls that go offsite for 6 months and the monthly fulls for 1 year.

This way, I can go back to a specific day for a month, a specific week for 6 months and a specific month for up to a year.

Does this make sense? I thought I had it figured out and I'm pretty sure I have my weekly running backup working correctly. I have the scripts on Friday set to "New Backup Set" but what happened was that each script wrote to a new backup set (fine) on a new tape (not fine). All of those backup sets could have fit on one tape easily.

We are using a Dell PV132t which has a single LTO3 drive and 24 tapes in it.

Hopefully I provided enough info. I tried searching but didn't see anything close to what I am trying to do here. If I missed something, just point it out and my apologies.

Thanks,

Adam

Hi

Retrospect handles the backup sets differently so you will have to change the way you look at things a bit.

Each backup set is a complete full backup independent of all the others. Here is what I would do: