Several gripes

robertdana

I'm a small business consultant and have been installing Retrospect as my standard small-office desktop backup solution for a while. I've run into several issues that I'm hoping someone here can at least point me in the right direction on:

1. My own office network is unfortunately partitioned by a wireless bridge. My Internet connection and two clients are on one side (one XP, one Mac), my retrospect server and laptop are on the other. Retrospect simply won't complete a backup across the bridge... I inevitably get a -519 errors trying to back up the two clients on the other side of it from the server.

I was hoping 7.0 would help, but after upgrading everyone to the newest update, I'm still getting the errors. This wireless connection behaves fine for all other uses and applications - there are occasional short drops of 5-10 seconds in duration due to some non-wifi interference in our area (we live near a military base), but everything else (windows file sharing, http downloads, etc...) tolerates it without a problem. I've watched it happen... Retrospect seems to give up at the first sign of a network hiccup, without any waiting or retries... are there some hidden settings I don't know about? I've searched the forum and seen some folks reference the "Network Retry" window and I've found the configuration setting in the advanced interface configuration options in 7.0, but they don't seem to have any effect. I've never seen one of these mythical retry windows.

I know -519s have been discussed here at length... but I'm new and haven't found posts that have been very helpful. Can someone point me in the right direction?