Can anyone confirm the general theory here?

Humptydank

Hi folks --

Sorry, as I mentioned in a previous post I'm a newbie at this stuff, but still have the responsibility for evaluating a backup solution for our small company. So I apologize for my learning curve here.

I'd just like to make sure I understand the general theory at work here:

-- Am I correct in describing the file portion of a Retrospect backup set as an unduplicated collection of files on all the machines backed up to that set? So files that are on every machine but are exactly the same (like system files would be) are only added once to the set?

-- But if I backup the same machines to a new backup set (the next night, for example), all those files are copied again to the new set. So if I'm creating a new backup set every night for a week, then I have to wait a week to come back around to the first set for a "progressive" backup to take place?

-- Am I correct in describing a Snapshot as just an index, indicating which of the many files in a Backup Set's file collection existed on a particular machine at a particular point in time?

-- So if a file that is already in the backup set is revised, it sounds like it is simply added to the backup set again as a unique instance, not trying to be smart about whether it's a new file or not, Retrospect simply says "this doesn't match anything in the Backup Set's collection" and adds it. Conversely, if it finds a file anywhere, on any machine, that matches exactly a file in its collection it doesn't add it. It then lets the Snapshots sort out what goes where if it needs to.

-- Are Retrospect Catalog Files then essentially the Table of Contents to a Backup Set, listing all the unique files and Snapshots contained in a set? That seems to be the case, since it can be re-created from the Backup Set itself.