.rdb files piling up

mfromo

Hi, I'm new to Retrospect Express (or any backup processes for that matter) and have a couple of

questions. I've setup an automatic nightly backup and see that everyday new .rdb files are

created. I assume these are recording any changes to the folders I'm backing up. Do these files

just keep piling up? Anyone have any suggestions or point me to the right place regarding

managing these files better?

Thanks for your responses

Mark

Retrospect Express performs what Dantz calls a Progressive Backup.

TITLE: Why Retrospect is Better Backup

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Discussion:

Most backup admins in the NT/2000 world perform "full" backups every night. Why? Restore reliability.

When we created Retrospect, we looked at how other file-based backup software worked (Backup Exec, ARCserve, etc.), and we were amazed to see that nothing had really changed since the days of DOS 2.x.

These programs today still rely on the file's archive attribute to determine what to back up in a "new and changed files" backup. Their incremental and differential backups save time and media during the backup process, but they make restoring difficult, and exact restores IMPOSSIBLE. If you did seven incremental backups, then you have to perform seven incremental restores! Good luck!

That's why most anyone who has had to try to rebuild a server from incremental backups now uses a strategy of full backups every night.

Well, Retrospect is smarter than that.

Retrospect can restore any volume in a single pass over the backup media, even though it only performs "new and changed file" backups. This is possible because Retrospect performs a more intelligent method of file selection, ensuring that one copy of each unique file from the source is copied to *each* backup set.

Retrospect doesn't know how to do a "full" or an "incremental" backup.