Recommendation for backup devices to use

sunspots2002

I have been using Retrospect for about 2 years (off and on). The backup procedure falls over with me, as it is a time consuming activity as I use CDRW for backup.

I have to laptops each with Win XP Prof (one with SP1 & the other with SP2). Each using about 10Gigs of their respective drives. My backup policy was to only backup the important data (ie documents, and the like) but want to be more comprehensive and do the whole drive.

Except using CDRW you can only fit 700Megs per CDRW. I did look at buying a DVDRW (HP in particular) but it didn't seem to be recommended for USB1 connections.

I'm interested in hearing about what others do and the devices that are used.

Thanks

Quote:

I have been using Retrospect for about 2 years (off and on). The backup procedure falls over with me, as it is a time consuming activity as I use CDRW for backup.

I have to laptops each with Win XP Prof (one with SP1 & the other with SP2). Each using about 10Gigs of their respective drives. My backup policy was to only backup the important data (ie documents, and the like) but want to be more comprehensive and do the whole drive.

Except using CDRW you can only fit 700Megs per CDRW. I did look at buying a DVDRW (HP in particular) but it didn't seem to be recommended for USB1 connections.

I'm interested in hearing about what others do and the devices that are used.

Thanks

External USB hard drives.

Make sure your system supports USB 2, if not, also buy a USB 2 card.

USB 1.1 is too slow.

Check the small print on the package or web site for one of todays external HDs.

Such as my ACOMData external HD which can be used for either FireWire & Hi Speed USB 2.0:

It states that "you can connect the drive to a USB 1.0 port, however;

the drive will operate at significantly lower speeds".

Think this is referred to as "backward compatible".

Quote:

Check the small print on the package or web site for one of todays external HDs.