Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'data deduplication'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Announcements, News and Resources
    • Latest News
  • Windows Products-Retrospect
    • Professional
    • Server, SBS and Multi Server
    • Device and Hardware Compatibility-Windows
    • Exchange Server Add-On Support
    • SQL Server Agent
    • Linux, Unix and Netware Clients
    • Express for Windows
    • Product Suggestions-Windows
  • Mac OS X Products-Retrospect
    • Retrospect 9 or higher for Macintosh
    • Retrospect 8 For Macintosh
    • Retrospect 6: Desktop, Workgroup and Server for Mac OS X
    • Device and Hardware Compatibility-Mac OS X
    • Linux Clients
    • Product Suggestions-Mac OS X
  • Macintosh OS 9 and Earlier-Retrospect
    • Express, Desktop, Workgroup and Server for Pre-OS X
    • Device and Hardware Compatibility Pre OS X
  • General Discussion-Retrospect
    • Networking and Clients
    • Strategy, Scripts and General Use
    • Retrospect iPhone App
  • Retrospect 8.x for Mac
  • Retrospect 6.1 for Mac
  • Retrospect 7.7 for Windows
  • Retrospect 7.6 for Windows
  • Retrospect Express
  • General Discussion

Categories

There are no results to display.


Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests

Found 1 result

  1. Hi, we are interested in Retrospect. But I don't know if Retrospect is the right application. What we need: 6am: Full backup is created. 7am: User created a new 10GB file "foo.mp4" in /currentWork. 9am: Backup will run. It will backup "/currentWork/foo.mp4" for the first time. 10am: User will rename "foo.mp4" to "bar.mp4". 11am: Backup will run again. What will happen now? Will Retrospect copy the "bar.mp4" again or will Retrospect recognize, that it has already backed up the file and it was just renamed? 12am: User will move /currentWork/bar.mp4 to its final destination /projects/clientsX/bar.mp4. 13am: Backup will run again. What will happen now? Will Retrospect copy /projects/clientsX/bar.mp4 or will it recognize, that it has already backed up the file? So the final question is, if I will end up with 20GB wasted space or if only 10GB will be used in the backup media. If deduplication will work as expected (only 10GB will be used), will a new full backup add the 10 GB files again or not? What will happen, if I copy the file over via network to another system, which will also be backed up by Retrospect (the two systems are using the same backup set)? Does it recognized, that the file is already in the the set or will Retrospect add a new copy... Last thing - Virtual Machines: For example we have the folder /vms which contains our VMs So there are many large files (the virtual disks). When you just boot one VM, the file will change. What will happen? Will Retrospect treats that modified file as a new file, so it will copy the entire file or only the changed blocks? Many questions, I hope someone is able to answer. Thanks.
×