Jump to content

rking29

Members
  • Content count

    2
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About rking29

  • Rank
    Occasional Forum Poster
  1. I have recently had the same problem. Retro begins to scan the volume, but after scanning 11574 folders and 31702 files, reports a Net retry, then the -43 error. The volume in question is a home directory sharepoint on a 10.3.6 server. This happened about a month ago on another similar volume, and my successful fix was to define sub-folders within the volume. Retro was then able to scan each of the sub-folders and back them up without a problem. Unfortunately, there are 340 sub-folders in the current problem volume, and to break it up differently means taking the server offline and reconfigure the sharepoint(and this server is in use about 20 hours per day.) The volume has somewhere in the vicinity of 350,000 files/folders in it, and losing it could mean my job. I too might be inclined to blame Retrospect... but would be happy just to identify and fix the problem, as blame is a wasted and counterproductive exercise.
  2. We run Retro Server 5.0238 from OS 10.2.6 workstation with 384mb backing up about 50 clients to an external firewire drive. For the most part everything works very well, but 2 related issues are causing me headaches. For one specific process I have 13 backup scripts that run nightly without problem. I have corresponding restore scripts that run first thing in the morning to place these backups on an OS 10.2.6 server for use in the central office. 1. In the log in the morning several of the restores report "Can't access Snapshot, error -108 (not enough memory)". Some do not gererate this error, and the ones that do are not the same scripts or even the same number of scripts each night. I then go to these scripts, and each one with the error will have the snapshot deselected, so I reselect, save the script, and run it again manually without problem. The next morning the problem returns. 2. These restore scripts are set to "replace corresponding files" which works O.K., but after the restore, the permissions are changed on the target folders, making them unusable on my network until I manually reset the permissions. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. My boss is not happy!
×