Jump to content

Ron Haines

Members
  • Content count

    21
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    3

Ron Haines last won the day on May 2 2014

Ron Haines had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

6 Neutral

About Ron Haines

  • Rank
    Member

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    School of Chemistry, Uni of New South Wales
  1. With 15.0.0 using an unauthenticated host for e-mail notifications I found it necessary to append the default SMTP port to the host name in order to get notifications to work (:25 after the host name). This was not needed in earlier versions.
  2. Solved - the knowledgebase article mentioned by David had a clue. Adding :25 after the smtp host name solved the problem. So it looks like you need to be explicit about the port number. I'd still classify this as a bug. If you don't specify a port I think it should try the default smtp port first (which it appears not to be doing).
  3. Thanks David, I think contacting Tech Support is probably my next step. I just noticed this in the release notes for v15: IMPROVEDEmail Notifications: Support for unauthenticated accounts Given my situation, 'Improved' isn't quite the word I'd use.
  4. Hi, I upgraded a Retrospect 14.6.1 (101) machine to Retrospect 15.0.0 (190) and after the upgrade the machine can no longer e-mail reports. It can't even send a test e-mail - it says 'Trouble communicating (-102)'. E-mail preferences are configured to use an un-authenticated SMTP host on our campus. I can telnet from the upgraded machine to port 25 on the SMTP server, and I have a second Retrospect machine still running 14.6.1 which continues to send e-mail reports through the smtp server. It looks like something changed in the way e-mail is handled in 15.0.0. Has anyone else seen this, or can give me a clue about getting e-mail working again? Thanks, Ron Update: in system.log on the upgraded machine I can see "Retrospect[81482]: PreferencesEmailController::sendTestEmail exception: E-mail notification failed: error -1027 (connection refused)"
  5. Thanks! I expect that info might be useful to a few people.
  6. We have all of our Retrospect clients authenticated with passwords. Managing and securing the passwords is becoming a big task, so I am contemplating going to private/public key authentication. If I generate a key pair and start using it to add new clients, will this interfere with the existing clients using passwords? If I update a (passworded) client with a newer version, with the public_key in place for the client install, will the server switch to authentication with the key? Thanks
  7. I've just installed 12.02 on a mac previously running 11.5 and although most settings were preserved I noticed that catalog compression on one disk media set was turned off (previously it was 'on' under 11.5), and several clients where options for excluding items from backups (etc) were on under 11.5 were now turned off after the upgrade to 12.02.
  8. In the Mac Version 12 User Guide (and in several previous versions) the section "Upgrading from Previous Versions of Retrospect" (page 18) doesn't make much sense. The first sentence reads "Because Retrospect for Mac has a different underlying architecture and uses different configuration files than previous versions of Retrospect for Mac, version does not import settings from version 6.x or earlier installations." I think there are three places in that sentence where specific version numbers should be inserted. The KnowledgeBase article about upgrades says that since version 8, upgrades have preserved settings etc, which is contrary to what the User Guide says. Could someone have a look at this and correct it please?
  9. Just in case this lets someone else avoid my brain-block... After a long time looking irritably at the disabled settings in the client on my machine, I finally realised that the user options for allowing exclusion of files etc have to be enabled per client (which is actually what Robin said above, but didn't sink in to my brain). It is not sufficient to turn on "Preferences > Clients > Allow clients to: exclude items from backups" on the Retro server. You then have to go to each source and enable the options you want.
  10. If that worked it would be great, but I've now ticked "keep catalog compressed', saved the changed setting, and waited a few minutes and there is no sign of activity. The media set is still available, and there is nothing in the log to indicate that compression has started. The mod date on the catalog file changed, but that appears to be all that happened.
  11. Thanks. Yes, I was thinking about that myself, and I will do that if I can't get Retrospect to do it. My feeling is that it would be neater to get Retro to do it so that if needed I can do restores and have it 'just work'.
  12. Is it possible to get Retrospect (11.5.3) to compress the catalog for a disk media backup set without doing a backup to the set or having the backup disks mounted? I have the catalog for last year's backups uncompressed and at 72BG I am sure I can save a useful amount of disk space by turning on compression in the media set settings, but I doubt ticking the 'Keep Catalog compressed' button will trigger compression of the catalog. The disks containing backups are in the cupboard and I would prefer to avoid having to unmount this year's disks just to get the catalog compressed. Thanks for any tips on how to get this done.
  13. On the Retro 10.5 server, Preferences > Clients > Allow clients to: exclude items from backups is ON. (and has been on since the server was configured)
  14. I noticed that an overnight backup of my machine had copied a huge amount of data (17G compared to an expected 1G). Browsing the backed up files I saw a directory of temp files which I had listed under the Privacy tab in the client to prevent it being backed up. This exclusion had worked for dozens of backups until this most recent one. This only change which might have happened prior to this backup was that I added one more directory to the Privacy tab. Details: 10.5 server (running on OS X 10.7.5), 9.0.2 client (running under OS X 10.8.5), backing up to disk media. Related to this, I setup a windows machine for backup last week and added a directory to the Private tab, only to find it was backed up. Has anyone else seen the settings under the Privacy tab not being respected by Retrospect? Am I misunderstanding how the Privacy tab works? Another possible bug: in the OS X client, the list of directories under the Privacy tab is never enabled to allow a directory to be selected, regardless of whether the user has authenticated or not. This means there is no way to remove a directory from that list.
  15. Thanks, I've already tried stopping and restarting both the engine and the console. And I did a restore from a backup which was listed in the backups pane. Still nothing in the 'Retrieve...' dialog. The problem is that I want to restore a directory to an earlier date than what is shown in the listed backups. About doing the restore... If I do a restore from a point in time I get the same list of backups in the dialog, but the 'More backups...' button is inactive.
×