Jump to content

FMNTech

Members
  • Content count

    7
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

FMNTech last won the day on August 15 2014

FMNTech had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

2 Neutral

About FMNTech

  • Rank
    Newbie
  1. Hi, I may not have searched on the proper term(s) so if this question has been addressed, a reference to the info would be appreciated. I want to move my backups from local storage to an iSCSI-based NAS box, keeping the server where it is. How do I go about redirecting where Retrospect looks to continue it's incremental backups? Do I stop Retrospect, just move the backup files, and then edit the 'Member Properties' for the Backup Sets to point them to the new location? Thanks!
  2. Hi Lennart. Thanks for your timely reply! There are two ways to do this, neither worked because (1) I was looking in the wrong place, and (2) I wasn't seeing what was in front of me. (1) I'd read in other forum postings about this 'retroclient.state' file that resides on Macs (OS X) in 'Library:Preferences' but couldn't find it; even a Spotlight search produced no results. Only later did I realize it was in the 'main' <hard disk>:Library:Preferences folder, not the specific <username>:Library:Preferences folder. It is there, and I suspect deleting that would have resolved the issue. (2) We use the Windows server (8.5), and indeed in the properties of any client there is a 'Rename' button that I must have looked at a dozen times without it ever registering... such is the fate of admins multitasking. It is found here: Main Menu Configure>Clients Select Client to rename then either click on Properties or right click the client name and select Properties Select the Tools tab, and there it is, 'Rename'. I'm sure there is a similar button on the Mac server version. Hope this helps anyone else who comes across it.
  3. Hi, Running OS X 10.8.5 on the client-MacBook Pro, with client version 10.1.0 (221). I wanted to change the hostname of the OS X system. After changing the name, uninstalling and re-installing the Retrospect client - all with the provided packages, the old client name keeps showing up in the Retrospect client. I have deleted the old client from the 'Configure Clients' window on the Server Windows (8.5.0 (136) ), changed the DNS name on our DNS server, cleared the ARP cache on the client system and on the DNS server. I have also looked for a Retrospect Preferences file on the client but have not found one. I re-install the client and the old hostname (Client Name) shows up; no matter what I do I cannot seem to change the hostname in the Retrospect Client. I really don't want to be forced to re-install the OS and all the apps. Any suggestions? It seems to me there is some preference file that's not getting erased when I use the Uninstall from the client package.
  4. I am trialing Retrospect 8.1 Server on a Win 2012 Server. I am trying to create selective backups of folders on a Mac client. Searches on the Retrospect site didn't provide any clues. Under 'Selecting' I tired using the pre-identified Mac OS (HFS/HFS+) Special Folders 'Desktop Folder" and 'Documents". When the backup finished, it contained the logged-in users 'Documents' and 'Downloads'. I then tried Including these folder names through the 'Universal' method selecting the Folder checkbox, entering the 'Desktop' and 'Documents', and I got pretty much all the folders in the user's directory. Finally, I tried excluding folder 'Downloads', 'Music', 'Movies', and 'Pictures' checking the Folder option and selecting 'match' in the pattern. This did not work either. How do I properly select a folder for inclusion or exclusion using Retrospect Server on Windows with a Mac OS X 10.8.3 or .4 client? Thanks
  5. New to Retrospect. I'm sure this is a simple question, i just haven't been able to find a definitive answer. I'm thinking the answer is, "just the logged-in user." Just wasn't sure how to properly search the documentation for this. Environment: Retrospect 8.1 server for Windows Clients, all laptops, Win7 and OS X 10.8.3 or 4 Each laptop has a user profile, which is what is logged in, and an admin profile, which is idle. Retrospect will use a service account with local admin access to laptops. This concerns both Win7 and OS X... When I create a backup script to targeting: -Win7 - predefined "Profile and settings', or custom My Document + Desktop, will the script only target the currently logged-in user, or will it grab the defined directories for all users? -OS X10.8.3 or 4: Full system, or custom Documents + Desktop, will the script target the currently logged-in user or will it grab the defined directories for all users? Thanks
  6. FMNTech

    Backup Strategy?

    Hi Lennart, How do you create the groups to which you can assign scripts? I have engineers whose entire systems need backing up and sales/marketing folks whose files, without system info, I need to backup. Assigning a proactive script to a group is exactly what I'm looking for. Thanks, Chris
×