Monthly backup schedule with drive replacment

I am fairly new to retrospect, and have been tasked to play with v9; I believe we are using v6 in our production environment.  As it stands I have several scripts in place in order for us to keep a months worth of backups in place, with each week separate.  Part of our backup regime is to take the backup hard drive to our offsite storage once a month.  While I haven't tested the scenario yet, I assume that when I put in a new hard drive, I will have to recreate all of my folders so that Retrospect continues to function accordingly.

Does this sound right?

Is there any easier way to go about things?

Thank in advance.

• Like 2

Backups are made to Backup Sets (in v6) or Media Sets (v8 and  later), each of which has one or more Members. The backup data is stored on each member in a proprietary format, unless you've been performing Copy scripts rather than Backup scripts.

You will not need to recreate any folders on the next hard drive, but you will need to decide whether the new hard drive will be a new member of an existing Media/Backup Set, or whether it will be the first member of a new Media/Backup Set.

I'd recommend spending a bit of time with the Retrospect User's Guide to familiarize yourself with the terminology and various approached to backups. There are also tutorials on the Retrospect website.

Recycling media sets saves money but you of course will lose all the previously backed up data. Expanding a media set indefinitely by adding members will eventually result in making restores more cumbersome than you'd probably like. We periodically perform what are called New Media backups, which enable us to create a new media set while retaining the established backup scripts. This allows us to keep our media sets conveniently-sized while enabling us to retain all our past backup data.